Sign In
+
PRINT THIS PAGE

The Arts



The arts in all their forms are an important part of the Newark Academy experience. Here, students explore their world and express themselves in a community that celebrates the arts. Painting, dancing, acting, or singing—all NA students learn the meaning and beauty of the art in themselves. And they do so under the expert eye of an exceptionally talented and dedicated arts faculty.

There is something for everyone, from the beginner to the gifted artist and from Middle School through Upper School. Students can take part in a play and/or join advanced acting and improvisation. Dancers learn Merengue and Salsa as well as ballet or modern dance and we not only have orchestral music for Middle School and Upper School, but we also have string ensembles and jazz bands. Visual artists pursue drawing, painting, printmaking, and ceramics at introductory levels or for advanced portfolios and singers in all grade levels can join a chorus or participate in select groups.
Winter-Spring Arts Events
Eleventh Annual NA
Community Art Exhibit

“Dream On”
January 16 -February 19
Reception: January 16, 2:30 pm

24-Hour Play Writing Festival
Friday, January 24, 7:30 pm

Winter Musical
"25th Annual
Putnam County Spelling Bee"
Thursday, Friday, Saturday,
February 27, 28, March 1, 7:30 pm

Evening of Jazz for Newtown
Friday, April 11, 7:30 pm

Upper School Spring Choral Concert
Thursday, April 17, 7:30 pm
 
IB/Advanced Acting
Evening of Theater
Friday, April 25, 7:30 pm

Upper School Spring Instrumental Concert
Sunday, April 27, 3:00 pm

Middle School Evening of the Arts
Thursday, May 1
Art Reception: 6:00 pm
Concert: 7:00 pm

Upper School Choral Cabaret
Saturday, May 3, 7:00 pm

MIDDLE SCHOOL PLAY:
"Law & Order: Fairy Tale Unit"
Friday, May 9, 7:30 pm

Orchestra Concert:
"Masterworks"
Sunday, May 11, 7:30 pm  Location TBA

Spring Dance Concert
Thursday, May 22, 7:30 pm