Annual Report on Giving

Faculty and Staff Donors

Contributions from faculty and staff do much more than provide funds for programs, classroom materials, financial aid and other needs. These gifts are endorsement of Newark Academy, demonstrating a deep belief in the school’s core goals and mission, signaling to others that this an institution worthy of support. For the sixth consecutive year, every member of NA’s faculty and staff contributed to the Annual Fund – a resounding expression of dedication and leadership from within.
Anonymous (2) 
Andrew Alford
John Amosa
Tom  Ashburn
Donald Austin
Joseph Ball+
David Beckman
Jack Bender
Willard Blaskopf+
William Blomn
Elizabeth Bona-Beach
Joseph Borlo+
Annette Brennan
Judy Briod+
Kenneth Brock
Elaine Brodie
Troy Burki
Garrett Caldwell
Nancy Celente
Shun-Yao Chang
Caitlin Ciampaglio
James Coe
Jessica Cohen
Sean Cosgrove
Charles Crosby
Tara Ann DelRusso
Sami Demir
Richard DiBianca
Robert Downes
Kristin Duszak
Cori Eggert
Amy Larkey Emelianoff+
Daniel Erlandson
Moussa Fall
Diana Fernandes
Keith Fischer
Sarah Fischer
Gabriella Galvez
Pegeen Galvin-Scott
Eileen Gilbert
Sam Goldfischer
Luis Gomez+
Lisa Grider
Sarah Guelich
Youthser Guerrero
Gardy Guiteau
Oliver Hagen
Stephanie Hammond
Benson Hawk
William Hobson
Amy Hone+
Andrei Ionescu
Arlene Jachim+
Erik Jacobsen
Julie Madison Jacoby+
Scott M. Jacoby+
Christine Johnson
Scott Johnson
Jeff Kacur
Derek Kanarek+
David Kapferer
Stacey Kaplan-Layton+
Robert Kapps
Drew Kesler
W. Wesselink Keur+
Catherine Krtil
Karen Kuser
Viraj Lal
Andrea Lankin
Elizabeth Barbato LaPadula
Alisa Laudicina+
Felipe Ledezma
Fan Luo
Yvette Luxenberg
Mary Lysinger
Alexandra Mahoney
Robert Mallalieu
Nicholas Manfreda
Anthony Marano+
Sandy Marano
Marissa Marino
Debra W. Marr+
Courtney Marsallo+
Lydia Masterson+
Holly Maykow '08+
Tim McCall
Anita McKenna-Murphy
Maria Teresa McNeilly-Anta '93
Austin Mease
Sarah Morgan
Kirsti Morin
Jean Moroz
Lisa Mulligan
Patricia Neary
Evan Nisenson '99  
Kristin Nwokedi
Kathleen Ollen
Reyther Ortega
Traci Osterhagen Brock
Rochelle Outlaw Edwards
Sandy Palmer
Lenora Parks
Blackwood Parlin+
Joan Parlin+
Nelly Pascal
Swati Patel
Daniel Petrillo '06
Eileen Petrillo
Dana Pomykala
Candice Powell-Cadwell+
Callie Prince
Margaret Purcell
Cathy Pursell+
Ed Pursell '02
Alberto Quintos
Salomon Quintos
Segundo Quintos
Daniel Reed
Rachael Reeves
Megan Rezvani
Robert Rezvani
Jessica Rice
Allyson Richardson
Jordyn Richardson-Norris '14+
Elizabeth (Penney) Riegelman+
Scott Robinson
Frederick Rollenhagen
Alexis Romay
Debra Ronan
Scott Rowling
Jennifer Rusek+
Andrew Ryan
Hernando Santamaria
Suzanne Sawatzky-Harttree+
Lou Scerra
Norman Schafler+
Amy Schottland
Robin Scott+
Rachel Shapiro Cooper
Noelle Shirey
Samad A. Siddiqui
Barbara Sine
Alexis Sommers
Elizabeth Sparacino
Kerri Speck
Carol Spooner
Brian Stephenson
Richard Stilliard
Neil Stourton
Matthew D. Sugam
Lizzy Takyi
Debra Tavares
Abigail Taylor
Michael Thayer
Julius Tolentino
Jay Torson
Carlos Trujillo
Anthony Ungaro
Ian Vallone
Jeffrey Vinikoor
Kathleen Wade+
Renée Walker
Donald Webster+
Mary Ellen Weinel
Samantha Wilkerson
Kerry Winiarski
James Worrell
Hannah Wyrzykowski+
Joey Yow
Tao Zhu
+ Former faculty/staff

Thank You To Our Donors

In Appreciation of NA Teachers

Newark Academy faculty are consistently reimagining the educational rigor that the school is known for. Each day NA educators bring innovative, engaging and challenging experiences to students in order to help instill within them with a genuine love of learning. This focus on academic excellence is affirmed by NA’s supportive community – one in which students learn together while developing as confident individuals with integrity.

To recognize and express appreciation for these efforts, parents and students made gifts to the NA Annual Fund as part of Teacher Appreciation Week on May 3-7. Throughout the week, several of the gifts made honored the entire faculty and staff, but most were given as a special “thank you” to one or more teachers who made a lasting impact on the lives of the donating student and their family. Teachers and staff members who were honored with such gifts received personal notes of appreciation. 

NA also celebrated longstanding faculty and staff who announced their retirement at the conclusion of the 2020-21 school year. These faculty and staff members include:

  • Math Teacher Scott Johnson (38 years)
  • Middle School Office Manager Chris Johnson (24 years)
  • Director of Library and Media Services Bob Mallalieu (39 years)
  • Director of Administrative Services Eileen Gilbert (37 years)
  • Humanities Teacher Amy Schottland (22 years)

As one NA faculty member noted, “There is no better gift to receive from a student or parent than hearing them say ‘thank you for your efforts.’ It really means the world to us.” Teacher Appreciation Week contributed a total of $17,235 to the Annual Fund – and a year’s worth of smiles on the faces of the faculty.
Reimagining rigor for students in grades 6-12