Twenty-two students named Commend National Merit Scholarship Students

Twenty-two Newark Academy students were named Commended Students in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program, placing among the top 50,000 students who entered the competition by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).
In addition, Siddharth Chalasani, Melanie Kramarchuk and Skywalker Li advanced as semifinalists in the competition. These students will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million that will be offered next spring.
Commended Students in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program:
Lucas Alland
Max Alter
Loren Ashfield
Matthew Catrambone
Sophia Chen
Katherine Fishbone
Lauren Freed
Stella Gilbert
Maximillian Gorbaty
Serin Hwang
Amaani Jetley
Dhruv Kapur
Ryan Kim
Mason Kung
Amanda Lei
Emma Lu
Saif Prabhu
Brandon Recce
Emily Swope
Asha Toolsidas
Samantha Witt
Albert Zhou
The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. Approximately 1.5 million high school students enter the program each year.
Reimagining rigor for students in grades 6-12