History
SINCE ITS FOUNDING IN 1774,
Newark Academy has occupied five different locations, overcome difficult challenges and flourished as a leader in independent school education. We invite you to learn more about Newark Academy’s past through the following visual historical timeline.
1774

The Academy is Founded
Temporary Setback

Newark Academy Reopens
NA reopens in rented quarters as an all-boys school.
“May this Academy rise and flourish … promote useful learning … and diffuse far and wide the beams of that sun of liberty, which has arisen in this western hemisphere.”
- Reverend Alexander Macwhorter
Rising From The Ashes

1797

Second Location
Ad Lumen

- Reverend Alexander Macwhorter
Girls Return
LaFayette Visits
1857

Third Location
Curriculum Catalog

1859-1865 ; 1875-1908

The Farrand Era Begins
Samuel Farrand serves as Headmaster, doing away with the girls’ division and establishing Newark Academy as a boys’ school. Under his leadership, enrollment increases and the Academy’s reputation flourishes.
Class of 1882

Morning Meeting

Athletics Arrives
The Polymnian
A New Headmaster

Spelling Aid Issued

NA’s First Yearbook

1929

Fourth Location
Newark Academy moves to its fourth and final Newark location along the historic Morris Canal on First Street.
Farrand Era Ends
World War II

Minuteman Mascot

First Student Newspaper
Robert M. Butler

1964

Fifth Location
Honoring Our Brave

E. Standish Bradford, Jr.

Return to Coeducation

First Female Cohort

Steering the Future
Bicentennial

Richard C. Hawkes Memorial Library

Allan E. Strand

IB Diploma

Arts Center
First Female Head of School

1999
225 Years!
Field House

Schedule Change

Off-Campus Study
Nature Trail

Donald M. Austin

Global Speaker Series
Immersion Experiences

June Term & Capstone Experiences

Upper School Academic Center

Kacur Field

Coursen Memorial Field Renovation

Wilf Middle School

Coraci Performance Hall

2024

250th Anniversary
Tom Ashburn

